The Smokin’ Voyages of Space Apaches

By Lisa Waugh
Smokin’ Voyages, the latest record from Space Apaches, sounds as if NASA decided to launch an acid country rock band into an asteroid. And then the asteroid stopped in its tracks played on the record. Or… If they ever make another Firefly series/movie, Space Apaches needs to be involved in making the soundtrack. This bluesy rock band definitely travels across deep space leaving glorious western sparks and weed exhaust.

I don’t know what it is about Asheville, but they have some good bands coming out of there. And they are all unique. Space Apaches is one of those bands that can capture many genres with enthusiastic ferociousness. There’s rock, funk, country, folk, and a whole slice of Space Apacheness.

If were remaking Barney Miller and the producers decided to do the cop show on Neptune. The album is a good time.

Jim Arrendell, Rob Geisler, Aaron Price, Andrew Reed, and Tom Leiner are experienced and fun-loving musicians out of Asheville. They jam, Andrew Reed writes engaging lyrics, plus they had the delightful temerity to cover “Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In).” It’s a pretty sweet version and The Dude would be quite stoked about it.

Their cover of “Ghost Riders In The Sky” is not to be missed. Full, glorious, and well produced like the rest of the album. Stellar.

Smokin’ Voyages is definitely worth the download especially if you’re looking for “visual” music. Something to take you off into the stratosphere or just down the street, depending upon your musical transportation requirements.

Smokin’ Voyages Stand out tracks:

“I Am The Six O’Clock News”
“Desert Life”
“Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In)”
“Breakin’ The Ice”
“Ghost Riders In The Sky”

Space Apaches Members/Instruments:
Drums: Jim Arrendell
Bass: Rob Geisler
Key/Piano/Guitar: Aaron Price
Guitar: Andrew Reed
Guitar: Tom Leiner

Smokin’ Voyages Production:

Record Label: Artists International Inc.

All songs written by Andrew Reed except “I Am the Six O’Clock New” by Larry Norman, “Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In)” by Mickey Newbury and “Ghost Riders in the Sky” by Stan Jones.

Produced by Andrew Reed
Recorded at Sedgwick Studios, Asheville, NC
Engineered by Jim Georgeson, chief engineer & Jason Pitroff, 2nd engineer
Mixed by Jim Georgeson
Mastered by Stephen V. Smith at SoundSmiths

Art Design: Jon Jones

Smokin’ Voyages Tracklisting:
1. Entry
2. Sunrise
3. In My Mind
4. Empty
5. Desert Life
6. I Am the Six O’Clock News
7. Breakin’ the Ice
8. Smile
9. Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In)
10. I’m on My Way to Feeling Fine
11. A Song for the Rest of My Life
12. Love Should Come Easy
13. Maybe
14. Ghost Riders in the Sky