Sam Levin: Frame of Mind

By Stephen Chow

Sam Levin was born to make music, seems like. And he’s already got a bio made for the music business. As a wee lad, Levin was steeped in all the greatest in folk, pop, and rock. He picked up a Fender Mini-Strat when he was five. Performed his first open mic at 7. He’s been playing regular gigs ever since. At 15, he’s busted out his debut album Frame of Mind and it’s pretty damn good.

The voice, the lyrics, the composition. Sam and his producer father and music steeper, David Levin, hit all of the rungs and rang all of the bells across the album’s 12 tracks. And they get there by doing something simple. Levin takes us into the every day life of a young man. But it’s not just that, it’s how he illustrates the journey.

As Levin explains it, “Frame of Mind, is really about the last year and a half of my life.” He also doesn’t think his work needs to be earth shattering to have an impact. ”It’s not a good thing or a bad thing, it’s just what happened.” He adds, “It’s about music’s place in all of that, in my life.”

Levin’s approach to the industry is refreshing as well. He’s not going for the mad dash for fame. He’s not looking for a glorious but finite window of opportunity. He’s in this for the long haul. He’s got the work ethic and the support system to make that happen.

That’s only the half of it. The other half is never stopping.

“Everything’s Ok”

Sam Levin – Vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, bass guitar, drums, beatbox, bongos, piano, hammond organ, melodica, percussion, and all instrument programming

Produced, recorded, mixed, and mastered by David Levin

Frame of Mind Tracklisting:

1. Everything’s Okay
2. Setup
3. Shades of Pale
4. Ride
5. Frame of Mind
6. Hide and Seek
7. I Sure Hope Not (Again)
8. Make My Day
9. Telescope
10. Because
11. Metronome
12. Tru Mo