‘Fully Re-Covered, The True Groove All-Stars’ Revisits Some ‘70s and ‘80’s Tracks To Ponder the Present

As The Tomás Doncker Band prepared to cut Brinsley Schwarz’s “(What’s So Funny ‘Bout) Peace, Love And Understanding” for the Fully Re-Covered, The True Groove All-Stars record last November, they were pondering a huge historical event in America.tomas_doncker_band_what's_so

The killing of 18-year-old Michael Brown by Ferguson, Missouri police officer Darren Wilson and the ensuing standoff between protestors and police was in full roil, galvanizing communities all over the nation. Police and protesters faced off after the shooting and tension escalated with Wilson’s acquittal. Things have not been the same for the country and for the band since.

Tomás Doncker and his fellow artists and band mates saw the need to revisit material that has inspired audiences in the past because of its relevance to today’s struggles. Their second LP Fully Re-Covered, The True Groove All-Stars is a collaboration of awareness and a call for change, working from the premise of covering material that still holds up.

Every member of The True Groove All-Stars – Tomás Doncker, Marla Mase, Kevin Jenkins, Heather Powell, Samuel Claiborne, Charlie Funk, Touchy Feely, Lael Summer, James Chance, Josh David – have used their own careers to leverage for change. Each artist enjoys coming together to put their own special spin on other artist’s hits as well as to update the message. The result has been an explosive and profound collaboration.

But the spark that ignited the project – the Ferguson riots subsequent aftermath involving police violence around the country – continues to bring the group into the studio. And great work to an appreciative audience.

Check out the lead single from the record, “Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick,” featuring Marla Mase (and James Chance).

Fully Re-Covered, The True Groove All-Stars Tracklisting:

1. “What’s So Funny”
By The Tomás Doncker Band
(Originally performed by Elvis Costello)
2. “Wires” – Ft. Lael Summer
(Originally performed by The Neighborhood)
3. “Spirit In The Sky” – Ft. Kevin Jenkins
(Originally performed by Norman Greenbaum)
4. “Relax” – Ft. Heather Powell
(Originally performed by Frankie Goes to Hollywood)
5. “Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick” Ft. Marla Mase
(Originally performed by Ian Dury and the Blockheads)
6. “It’s Not Unusual” Ft. Charlie Funk
(Originally performed by Tom Jones)
7. “Love My Way” Ft. Touchy Feely
(Originally performed by The Psychedelic Furs)
8. “Why Me Black Brother, Why?”
By The Tomás Doncker Band, Ft. Josh David
(Originally performed by The Mighty Diamonds)
9. “Do What you Want, Be Who You Are” Ft. Lael Summer
(Originally performed by Daryl Hall & John Oates)
10. “Hurt” Ft. Samuel Claiborne
(Originally performed by Nine Inch Nails)
11. “Wichita Lineman” Ft. Kevin Jenkins
(Originally performed by Glenn Campbell)
12. “I Don’t Want Nobody” Ft. James Chance
(Originally performed by James Brown)
13. “We’re A Winner” Ft. Tomás Doncker, Lael Summer, Kevin Jenkins and Marla Mase
(Originally performed by Curtis Mayfield & The Impressions)