Charlie Funk’s Give Me a Groove

By Stephen Chow

It’s time for a little time travel. Charlie Funk (Charles Maynard) could very well be Doctor Funk and his T.A.R.D.I.S. is his new EP Give Me a Groove. You’re back in the ‘70s while standing right here in the aughts.

From the title track to the last “Sexy Cutie (Touchy Feely Remix),” Mr. Funk brings all of his experience and charisma to the mic and the mixing board. The exception to the nostalgic vibe is “Lunch in Babylon (Feat. Mike Hampton & Marla Mase).” A corruption and unrest protest song with a kind of Frank Zappa ripple running through it.

Funk’s cover of “It’s Not Unusual” is Moog/horn/Motown/ awesomeness with a sprig of reggae. Probably my favorite track on the EP. It’s definitely unusual.

The EP could be the soundtrack for a very cool space adventure. An out of time, funk out of water space race from the past to the present and maybe back again. Give Me a Groove is definitely giving that very thing to the known universe.

“Sexy Cutie”

“Sexy Cutie” and “It’s Not A Joke” written by Charlie Funk, Tomás Doncker, Josh David
“Lunch in Babylon” written by Charlie Funk, Tomás Doncker, James Dellatacoma – featuring Michael “Kidd Funkadelic” Hampton on guitars, Amp Fiddler on Keyboards, and Marla Mase as “The Waitress”
“It’s Not Unusual” written by Gordon Mills, Les Reed
“Sexy Cutie” remix by Touchy Feely

Produced by Tomás Doncker and James Dellatacoma for True Groove.

Charlie Funk – Lead Vocals
Tomás Doncker – Guitars, Vocals
Nick Rolfe – keyboards, vocals
Michael “Kidd Funkadelic” Hampton – guitar on “Lunch In Babylon”
James Dellatacoma –  Guitars, keyboards, programming
Josh David – Bass, Vocals
Mike Griot – Bass on “Lunch in Babylon”
Norman Edwards – Drums on “Lunch in Babylon”
Marla Mase – Spoken Word on “Lunch in Babylon”

Mastered by Michael Fossenkemper at Turtle Tone Studio